BILL network frequently asked questions (FAQs)

The BILL network is the collection of customers and vendors using the BILL platform, or Key CashFlow℠, to transact with one another. Here are some important things to know about the network.


Jump to:


What is the BILL network?

The BILL network is the collection of customers and vendors using the BILL platform, or Key CashFlow, to transact with one another. Millions and millions already use the BILL network to pay and get paid.

What is a connection?

A connection is a link between BILL and/or Key CashFlow accounts that allows customers to send and/or receive electronic payments, as well as to exchange messages and documents needed for those payments.

Why should I connect with my customer?

Connecting with your customer allows them to pay you electronically to your BILL or Key CashFlow account without knowing your bank account details. You’ll also be able to track your invoices for connected customers and get online status tracking when payments are made.

Why should I connect with my vendor?

Connecting with your vendor allows you to pay them electronically to their BILL or Key CashFlow account without collecting or storing their bank account details. Your vendor gets their payments faster because they’re delivered electronically instead of via checks in the mail, plus they get online tracking so they can see invoice and payment status along the way.

Can a connected customer or vendor see my account details?

When searching the BILL network, your customers and vendors can see some basic information such as your company name and mailing address. They cannot see your bank account or credit card details, even when you are connected.

What happens when a connected customer or vendor updates their account information?

When a customer or vendor who’s connected to you updates their contact information, such as their mailing address, you’ll automatically see that updated in your BILL or Key CashFlow account. When they edit private information such as their bank account details, those changes won't be visible to anyone else. Bills, invoices, and payments are still automatically routed to the correct place based on the most current information, without you needing to update anything on your system.